St. Alphonsus School Inducts New Beta Club Members

By  | 

Submitted by Amanda Firmin

Family and friends gathered on Monday, September 12, 2011, at St. Alphonsus School to witness the induction of new members and swearing in of officers for the 2011-2012 Beta Club.  Returning members are: Anna Ashford, Taylor Boykin, Jack Caballero, Cameron Clement, Shae Fruge’, Toni Guerin, Courtlyn Hood, Kalyn LeBlanc, Alexa Lonibos, Amy Newsom, Devyn Samson, and Victoria Simmons.  Newly inducted members are: Jacob Breaux, Caelyn Clement, Hannah Cowart, Ashley Culmone, Ryan Deshazer, Katie Dunn, Christian Gendron, Sydney Meaux, Makenzie Morgan, DJ Rousseau, Justin Stevens, and Connor Vaughan.  The St. Alphonsus School Junior Beta Club is a student-centered organization that is primarily led by the students themselves.  Those in charge of the club, along with school principal Cynthia Ryals, aim to provide students with opportunities to demonstrate the ideals of character, service, and leadership within the community.  This is in accordance with the National Junior Beta Club’s motto “leading by serving others.”  At the induction ceremonies, the newly elected officers stated their pledges and commitment to the club and their fellow members.  All new members made a pledge of commitment to the club and service to others, both in the school community and the neighborhood community.  St. Alphonsus School teachers Kathie Wilson, Jennifer Gremillion, Brenda Cocke, and Nicole Phillips serve as the club moderators.   With their guidance, the officers will lead all members through a year of service to the community, participation in projects to benefit the needy, and preparation for participation in district rally and state convention.  “Our Beta Club has students who achieve high academically and represent the true character of St. Alphonsus School.  We know they will do well representing our school this year,” said Ms. Gremillion, second year moderator.  Beta members have already done just that.  Each morning, members are out waiting for students in Pre-K to get off the buses and out of cars in carpool.  Members of the club walk these young students to their classrooms, helping them find their way around campus and making them feel comfortable being at school.  “This is just the start of our service this year.  We have so many things planned, and the students are anxious to begin.  We are so proud of the work they do each year and look forward to another successful year with this year’s members,” said Kathie Wilson, second year moderator.  Students meet twice each month after school to work on service projects and to plan for rally and convention.  For more information about the National Junior Beta Club, visit their website at (written by Nicole Phillips)

Above: 2011-2012 Junior Beta Club of St. Alphonsus

Newly Elected Officers from Left to Right: Toni Guerin (Reporter), Courtlyn Hood (Photographer), Alexa Lonibos (President), Devyn Samson (Vice President), Makenzie Morgan (Photographer) and Amy Newsom (Secretary – not pictured).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *